Reviews

7.3
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.0
Comfort
6.6
Property location
7.7
Facilities
7.0
Staff
8.1
Value
6.2

Reviews

    Sabra
    gb

    Review score

    7.9
    15 October 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    dk

    Review score

    4.2
    28 August 2018
    Bed terrible. Door to bathroom opened by itself. Very small room. (Couldn’t keep 2 suitcases open in the same time without stepping in them.) Breakfast room was so little that you couldn’t sit with the legs under the table if there was a person I table behind you. Staff sat and watch TV on mobile phone (load) while breakfast table looked like a mess. There was a kitchen outside the room, but no forks, glasses etc. Parking was tricky in the dark since have to back up the car on ramp and turn without hitting the corners. You use code to the doors, feels like anyone who have or have had the code can access to the room.
    Walking distance to beach and downtown. Late check in avalible.
    Sandra
    nl

    Review score

    7.9
    14 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    ca

    Review score

    7.5
    24 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Julianna
    us

    Review score

    6.2
    3 October 2018

    Did not meet my low expectations.

    The tv stopped working for almost a whole day, there was only one cup and two of us. They let us know how to get into the ice and beverage area but then it was lovked upon arrival, even though in my email from the hotel I was told it would be unlocked for us and were provided a code. It was still dead bolted shut. The bed was so loud that it squeaked so much when I rolled over it woke my partner up and he is not a light sleeper. The staff was very rude when asking them questions. I’m 23 and got the sense they thought I was a child, even if I was younger I sill paid for the room with my own money. Lastly, the parki. Was very hard to access and it was just on the front lawn. When they said free parking I assumed an easy accessible parking area.
    The shower was very nice. Great location to the board walk.
    Eric
    us

    Review score

    3.3
    1 October 2018

    Will not stay here ever again. Really affected my time.

    This is basically a house converted into four small rooms and a large common area. Parking is in the front dirt yard of the house and up a steep driveway. To park, you need to make an awkward reversal from the driveway. Staff give no instructions to guests so that they'll park with enough room for other guest. Had a motorcycle in my way of entry several times. Rooms are remodeled to photograph nicely, but basically felt like a room in a stranger's home. Sheets were poor with holes and some stains. There are much better and cheaper places to stay in Santa Cruz. Would have been happier in a motel and I don't like motels. Staff was relatively ambivalent depending on shift. Breakfast are cheap pastries.
    Location to boardwalk and beach is convenient.
    us

    Review score

    5.4
    26 September 2018
    The shower handle was loose and took several minutes to find the sweet spot to shut the water off, someone else’s hair was stuck in the shower drain. Cabinet door was falling off in the bathroom. Parking was a bit challenging as staff was needed to guide you to your spot with only a few inches of clearance on each side of a tall masonry wall. Coffee cup from the breakfast area was cracked and leaked all over the counter and my clothes. The included breakfast was minimal. I realize this is Santa Cruz so it is going to be a bit expensive and we chose this place because of it’s uniqueness. It just seems the basics that make the experience enjoyable were not there. Would not recommend this place and would not stay there again. Rustic charm only goes so far.
    It had a rustic charm from the outside, the room was pleasantly decorated, location to sight seeing was excellent
    us

    Review score

    4.2
    17 September 2018

    Very in need of upgrading!

    Terrible mattress and pillows. Needed painted and upgrded badly. Grounds were a shamble. Toilet brush under chaise and hose all over the place. Parking terrible. Way to costly for what you recieve.
    Hmmmm front desk personnel nice.
    Victoria
    us

    Review score

    8.8
    17 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    juan
    pe

    Review score

    9.2
    13 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Yvette
    us

    Review score

    7.1
    8 September 2018
    The mirror and sink in the the bathroom are extremely high. I’m 5’3 and the sink was as high as my chest. I had a trouble washing my face! The bed seemed a bit dirty. There were obvious stains and when I lifted the sheet, there was 2 small hairs in the bed. I think they forgot to change the sheets. Lastly, we picked a river view room only for them to park the vehicles next to our window and totally obstruct the river view. That was very disappointing.
    The room looked updated and they had great TV channels. The front guy clerk was helpful and friendly.
    Pelagia
    us

    Review score

    8.3
    25 August 2018

    Nice stay

    The parking is quite tricky.
    -The staff are courteous, nice & helpful. Shout out to the fella who helped my partner get off the narrow parking. -Close proximity to the Boardwalk. -Hardwood floors. We’ll definitely go back but next time we’ll book the Rio Vista next to it, just because we don’t wanna deal with the tricky parking at River View Villa.
    David
    us

    Review score

    6.7
    22 August 2018
    Had to park on the lawn of the property not very convenient.
    Location
    Maria
    us

    Review score

    8.8
    10 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Walter
    us

    Review score

    6.2
    30 July 2018
    Room to small, parking on dirt , bed and pillows
    Location, quiet , friendly staff
    Caballero
    us

    Review score

    8.3
    8 July 2018

    Overall, stay was good.

    Bed was uncomfortable. Hard and Squeaky. No pool.
    Best location. You park your car there and it’s a 5min walk to the boardwalk.
    Wesley
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    26 June 2018
    The only problem we had was the people walking by the river were pretty loud but once we closed the windows we were fine
    We absolutely love this hotel walking distance to boardwalk , we enjoyed sitting outside by the fireplace .. Staff were super helpful and friendly We stayed 2 nights at river view villa we loved it
    us

    Review score

    6.2
    28 May 2018
    Not enough trowels, no parking
    Nice room
    Greg
    us

    Review score

    6.7
    21 May 2018

    Once was enough.

    The end of the bed frame stuck out 4-5" unseen. After to shin bruisings, we knew where the bed frame was. The mattress, however, was terrible making for a very sore wake up.
    The room was pleasantly nice
    Molly
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    16 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews